Growing Tropical Fruit in the Pacific Northwest

Gardening

Back in June, I visited my family out in Pennsylvania.  I love seeing them for so many reasons, but one that stands out is my Aunt Caryl’s mouth-watering cooking.  While I was there, she baked a delicious pie with blueberries she bought from the farmers market.  She also used the one and only lemon that she grew from her very own lemon tree.

Pennsylvania, like Seattle, can be an inhospitable place for tropical plants.  However, they can do very well indoors during those colder months.  Browsing your local nursery or big-box home improvement store, you will discover all sorts of them.

Earlier this year, in May, an ex-coworker and I saved the seeds of a specialty tropical fruit.  This fruit makes only a brief appearance in the grocery stores around here, for about a month, then it goes unheard of until next Spring.  It’s called the cherimoya.

We soaked the seeds for a couple days before planting them.

I knew that it was possible to grow the plants here.  I had heard of a man up in the Cascade mountains growing a lemon tree against a huge rock that collected heat and reflected light onto it.  However, before planting them, I had to do a bit of research and peruse the Internet.

On May 5, I planted them in a pot with an avocado pit I had rescued earlier.

An avocado pit was planted in the middle with cherimoya seeds surrounding it.

Originally from northern South America near the Equator, the cherimoya, also called custard apple, is now grown and cultivated all over Central America, Mexico, and even parts of California.  Apparently it can grow successfully near Los Angeles.  It tastes like a mix of pineapple, banana, and jackfruit.

While I won’t be hand-pollinating any flowers this year–the United States has no natural pollinators of cherimoyas–I will have some foliage to add to my little apartment.

My 4 cherimoya plants on my west-facing windowsill.

A view of 3-month old cherimoya from the top.

The covered one is greener and healthier than the other ones.

I kept a few outside during the summer, but they were getting burned, so I returned them indoors.

My beloved cherimoya.

One grower complained that after the plants reach 8 inches they die.  Others have insisted that cherimoyas are extremely difficult to grow.  Who knows?  Maybe one day you’ll see me at one of the Seattle farmers markets, selling tropical fruit that someone else’s favorite aunt might use for her pie.

6 thoughts on “Growing Tropical Fruit in the Pacific Northwest

  1. This original post is a bit old…do you have any updates? I live in Tacoma & am very interested in trying to grow this fruit myself! Did ever locate a pollinator?

    1. Michele, I will try to post an update on the cherimoya. In short, one cherimoya is still alive. It is a couple feet tall and mostly sits in my kitchen window. I bring it outside sometimes, too.

      It has a thin but woody trunk with some branches. Some days I think it is dying, but it emerges with new growth. The top leaves are large and lime green.

      Since I have yet to see any flower, pollinating is out. Right now, it remains an experiment and displays beautiful, if at times brownish, foliage.

  2. Hi, I believe your blog might be having weeb browser compatibility issues.

    Whhen I look at your blog in Safari, it looks fine however, if opening in I.E., it’s got
    some overlapping issues. I meeely wanted to provide you with a quick
    heads up! Apart from that, excellent website!

  3. Hi there are using WordPress for your site platform? I’m
    new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and set up my own. Do you require any html
    coding knowledge to make your own blog? Any help would be
    greatly appreciated!

Leave a Reply

